Board Inductees 2022-23

Alex Evans / Geaux Promotions

Alex started Geaux Promotions in 2005.

He has a Bachelor’s of General Studies from LSU with concentrations in History, Art, History and Political Science. He has a dry sense of humor that some find refreshing.

With a background in in-person and online guerrilla marketing, early social media (had a friendster account), and political grassroots outreach, Alex looks for creative solutions to target his client’s clients. While at LSU, Alex used lots of different guerrilla marketing techniques to promote a now defunct website which translated into his interest in the promotional / advertising specialties industry.

He is bad at writing bios.

Ebony Smith / Graceful Grind Strategies

Ebony Smith, CEO of Gracefull Grind Strategies located in Baton Rouge, is a growth-driven digital strategist focused on redefining what it means to reach and connect with people through digital marketing. Ebony graduated from LSU’s Manship School (geauxmanship!) with a degree in Mass Communication and a concentration in Advertising. She often returns to her alma mater to teach marketing and advertising students about her craft. 

While Gracefull Grind specializes in paid campaigns, Ebony’s purpose is to use all the proven tactics, strategies, and trends to create forward-thinking digital campaigns that lead with an empathetic approach. Ebony has planned, designed, written, and strategized successful digital campaigns for statewide and city campaigns, small business owners, and nonprofit organizations. She is also the 2021 Ada Lovelace Digital Marketer of the Year and recently won an award for Corporate Social Responsibility from the Curate for Women in Marketing conference.

Frank Kerner / Pelican State Credit Union

I’ve been in the marketing and advertising world for over 10 years, growing my passion for elevating ideas and helping other professionals thrive. My goal is to help others realize, actualize, and become the best version of themselves possible. By joining the AAF-BR Board, I’m hoping to bring my passion outside of the credit union industry, where I’ve been for the last 6 years. I’d like to bring my skills, ideas, and intense passion to elevate marketing, design, and advertising professionals in  Baton Rouge community and beyond to an already-amazing Board.

Jordan Hefler

Jordan Hefler is a professional photographer, graphic designer, and creative entrepreneur based in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Her work is most known for its lifestyle approach, colorful style, and quirky perspective. She currently specializes in editorial and commercial branding photography for creative marketing campaigns, publications, and the music industry. | @jordanhefler

Kara Pitre / ThreeSixtyEight

Kara is a spirited creative professional who is here to help, always. From fielding quick questions to problem-solving complex needs, she wants her clients and team to know they are in the most reliable of hands. She doesn’t stop at ‘good enough’, but instead pushes for the best possible outcomes — and she does so with zeal. 

Kris Bordelon / Lamar Graphics

Kris Bordelon is a design veteran in the Baton Rouge area for over 20 years. He earned his Advertising Design degree from Northwestern State University and has stops at two ad agencies, plus the local parks system. Currently he is a Senior Graphic Designer at Lamar Graphics.

Sophia Acuna /MESH

As an Austin native and LSU graduate, Sophia’s passion for helping others planted her as a Brand Manager at MESH where she serves her clients on a daily basis. Ranging from healthcare to sports to construction, Sophia supports clients across all industries to find creative solutions to their marketing problems. She thrives in collaboration with her team as they work together to produce high-quality, effective campaigns and strategies. When she’s not in the office, you can usually catch Sophia jamming to music, playing with her dog, Luna, or flipping furniture.

2022-2023 Executive Committee

Julia Yarbrough  – President
Jay Watson – Vice President / Programs
Rachel Harvey –  Vice President / American Advertising Awards Co-Chair
Lisa Thibodaux – Executive Director / Membership
Claire Estopinal – Treasurer
Jennifer Berthelot – Immediate Past President / Fundraising