The American Advertising Federation-Baton Rouge (AAF-BR) hosted its annual ADDY® Awards show on Saturday at the Varsity Theater. Inspired by a speakeasy establishment from the Prohibition era, the 2011 ADDY® Awards featured a “Work Hard, Speakeasy” theme. Guests enjoyed an open bar and catering by The Chimes. Comedian/Writer/Actor Howard Hall (BET’s “Comic View”, Jamie Foxx’s “Laffapalooza”) hosted the affair. The ADDY® Awards recognize and award outstanding creativity in the advertising field. More than 66 local agencies, individuals and students entered the ADDY® competition this year, for a total of 475 entries. Don Cassano from The Advocate received the E.A. “Pete” Goldsby Silver Medal Award, the highest recognition bestowed upon an individual who has made the greatest contribution to the advertising profession. Connie McLeod from Woman’s Hospital was awarded the President’s Service Awards for her contributions as a board member to the AAF-BR in the past year.

45 gold ADDY®s, 53 silver ADDYs, six Special Judge’s Awards, Best of Show and Best of Category Awards were presented. Advertising students were also recognized with 14 gold ADDY®s, 16 silver ADDYs, a Best of Show and Special Judge’s Awards.

View the Winner’s Book

Highest honors will be awarded as follows:
BEST OF SHOW OVERALL: LSU AAF-BR & Graphic Design Student Organization, “Entire Body of Work”
BEST OF MIXED MEDIA: Mesh Design, “Co-op Bookstore Campaign”
MOSAIC AWARD: Mesh Design, “The Experimental Poster”
BEST OF INTERACTIVE: Mesh Design, “LA Pepper Exchange Website”
BEST OF PRINT: TILT, “Swine Palace Poster Series”
BEST OF PUBLIC SERVICE: Rockit Science Agency, “Meth Sucks TV”
BEST OF TV: Our Lady of the Lake Children’s Hospital/Digital FX “OLOL Children’s Campaign”
SPECIAL JUDGE’S AWARD: Rockit Science Agency, “Stay for the Crab Boil Poster”
SPECIAL JUDGE’S AWARD: Zoom, “Colt 45 Sole Junkies Cooler Shoe Display”

Other ADDY® winners:
2121 Design: 1 silver
AAF-Baton Rouge: 1 gold, 3 silver
Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana: 2 silver
Bzquare Editions: 1 gold, 1 silver
Creative English: 1 silver
Dezinsinteractive: 1 silver
Diane Allen and Associates: 2 silver
Digital FX: 9 gold, 7 silver
Lamar Advertising: 2 gold
Lamar Graphics: 1 gold, 1 silver
LSU University Relations: 1 gold, 1 silver
Maxon Media: 1 silver
Mesh Design: 8 gold, 8 silver
Object 9: 2 gold
Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center: 1 silver
Rockit Science Agency: 12 gold, 8 silver
The Lane Agency: 1 silver
TILT: 6 gold, 5 silver
Wright Feigley Communications: 1 silver
Xdesign, Inc.: 1 gold, 1 silver
Zehnder Communications: 1 gold, 2 silver
Zoom: 5 silver

Student ADDY winners:
STUDENT BEST OF SHOW: David Achee, “Black Pelican”
David Achee: 1 gold, 3 silver
D. Achee, G. Dippel, M. Normand, and J. Pope: 2 gold, 1 silver
Jennifer Bonnet: 1 silver
Peter Cagnolatti: 1 gold
Peter Cagnolatti, Uriel Echavarria, and Kyle Baker: 1 gold
Graphic Design Student Organization: 1 gold
Peter Giuffria: 2 silver
Team Grind Haus: 3 silver
Kourtney McCloskey: 1 gold, 1 silver
Jeffrey A. Noel: 2 gold
Jeffrey A. Noel & Jamie Rome: 3 gold
Jordan Claire Pope: 3 silver
Melinda Thiessen: 2 gold
Eliza Todorova: 1 silver
Phil Winfield: 1 silver

Pinnacle Award Winners:
BEST SALES MANAGER: Gary Weiss, Lamar Advertising of Baton Rouge
TriStar Graphics
BEST INDUSTRY NEWCOMER: Stephen Bowling, Rockit Science Agency
BEST MARKETING DIRECTOR: Nicole Hidalgo, Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center
BEST INDUSTRY ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE: Kelli Bondy, Wright Feigley Communications