Ralph Sims Award

Honoring Lifetime Achievement in Advertising Education

Ralph Sims was a member of AAF-Baton Rouge from 1965 till 2009. He served as President in 1967-68 and was honored with the E.A. “Pete” Goldsby Silver Medal Award in 1973. Prior to retiring, Sims worked as Senior Vice President of Marketing at Fidelity National Bank. In honor and recognition of Mr. Sims’ achievements and contributions to our organization, the AAF-BR presents an annual award of excellence to an advertising professional in Baton Rouge and the surrounding areas who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and mentoring of area college and university students in advertising, design and related fields. The Board of Directors solicits nominations in March and then votes in mid-April of each year, for the winner who is then presented the award at the May “Salute to Students” luncheon.

Nominate Someone Deserving!

Typed nominations stating your reasons for nominating your choice for the Ralph Sims Award should be saved as a PDF and emailed to info@aafbr.org.

Detailed information will help the judges in making their selection. The Ralph Sims Award winner will be selected on the basis of the facts presented in the written nomination, plus any additional information easily available to the selection committee. The winner is announced each year during the May luncheon.

Previous Ralph Sims Recipients

2024 – Kevin Hagan
2023 – Gerald Bower
2022 – Trisha Rabalais
2019 – Amber Goodwin
2018 – Jeremy Grassman
2017 – Hunter Territo
2016 – Dr. Lance Porter
2015 – Dr. Yongick Jeong
2014 – Greg Milneck
2013 – Jason Feirman
2012 – Martin Flanagan
2011 – Otey White
2010 – Al McDuff
2009 – Karen Gaupp-Wozniak
2008 – Ralph Sims