Congratulations to all the newly-elected board members! The following board members will take office July 1, 2009: Jessica Bensen, Amedisys Home Health Services Emily Clemmons, Ink & Air/Gaupp-Wozniak Communications Steve Davison, Digital FX, Inc. Margo Jolet, LSU Office of Communications & University Relations Miranda Lemon, Amedisys Home Health Services Theresa Overby, Baton Rouge Area Convention & Visitors Bureau Shannon Perry, Lamar Advertising Mandy Porta, Success Designs Brian Rodriguez, Gatorworks Trammie Tran, Lamar Advertising Aimée Shultz, Covalent Logic Hunter Territo, XDesign
One of the highlights of the 2009 Spring Convention was the induction of Baton Rouge advertising professional, Curtis Vann, as the 2009-10 District 7 Governor. Vann will oversee all AAF activities in this district beginning July 1, 2009.
Ralph Sims was a rare individual who made an indelible mark on AAF-Baton Rouge. To honor his achievements, the club created the Ralph Sims Award honoring Lifetime Achievement in Advertising Education in 2008 to be given to a Baton Rouge advertising professional who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and mentoring of area college and university students. Sadly, Sims passed away earlier this year, but his award is proudly carried on in his memory. At the May 1 member luncheon, AAF-BR named Karen Gaupp-Wozniak as the first recipient of this prestigious award. Gaupp-Wozniak aspires to carry on the principles and creativity of the field at the highest level by mentoring and dedicating her firm to the next generation of advertising professionals. She sponsors five advertising students per year at AAF-BR luncheons. She also participates
Our LSU National Student Advertising Competition team shined at Spring Convention, placing third in the annual competition. The team’s high-powered presentation on a campaign against college binge drinking “Find Your Edge” was featured at the May 1 member luncheon
Tags: ,
LSU seniors, Ashley Nobles and Jill Whitley have been named AAF-BR student scholarship winners. Each winner received a $1,000 scholarship to be applied to their current university, as well as a one-year honorary membership in AAF-BR. Nobles is a member of Phi Sigma Pi National Honor Society, a student member of AIGA and LSU’s Graphic Design Student Organization, and has served as a student volunteer for AAF-BR. She has excelled with a 3.25 GPA and will graduate this month with a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Graphic Design. Outside of the classroom, she has honed her skills designing the LSU Gumbo Yearbook, interned for Camco Consulting, and most recently completed a design assistant position at Covalent Logic. “Her graphic design abilities were invaluable, her professionalism, willingness to help, and managerial abilities excelled
AAF-BR member Amber Goodwin, District chair for 2009 NSAC Competition, was honored with the District 7 Bolton-MacVicar Award. The award is named for Jack Bolton and Fred MacVicar, Atlanta advertising professionals who created and implemented the student advertising competition, one of AAF’s signature services in which teams from member college chapters compete using a real life case study. The winner of the competition is crowned the National Champion of Advertising. The Bolton-MacVicar Award pays tribute to the District 7 individual who dedicates time and effort to this competition. AAF-BR member Gerald Bower received this award in 2007-08.
Tags: ,